Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Thamesmead Town Football Club


The History Of Thamesmead Town Football Club

3 weeks ago By sonya whittam

Our History!

Thamesmead F.C. was formed in 1969 as a community team for local youngsters. The club merged with Southlake FC in 1973, and by 1979 were fielding a Saturday team, playing on local park pitches.

In 1980 the club entered the London Spartan League at the Intermediate Division Three level and dominated the divisions in the early 80s, but couldn’t gain promotion to the Senior Division until they gained senior status. 

In 1985, the club changed its name to Thamesmead Town FC, and later that year they relocated to Bayliss Avenue, before finally gaining senior status during the summer of 1987 and were accepted into the London Spartan League Premier Division.

The club moved to the Kent League in June 1990, where they remained until 2008, generally finishing amongst the top half dozen in the table. 

In 2002–03, the club missed the runner-up spot on goal difference, despite bizarrely having more points than Cray Wanderers, who won the League! Keith McMahon took the helm in the summer of 2006 and this would be the beginning of a new successful era for Thamesmead. 

In 2007–08, Thamesmead Town were champions of the Kent League, winning the title on the last day of the season. The title ensured promotion to the Isthmian League, where they were elected to play in Division One North in 2008–09.

The summer of 2009 saw work begin to give Bayliss Avenue a massive transformation as work began on “Sportsman Club Thamesmead” The Project aimed to deliver first-class facilities for the local community as well as a stadium suitable for Conference South which was hoped to be completed for the start of the 2010/11 season.

However, delays ensured and it was at this time around September 2012 that former Maidstone United Chairman Paul Bowden-Brown became involved in the club as a director, with the main aim of stabilizing the finances off the field and then during January 2015 became outright owner of the club as chairman.

When Keith McMahon resigned in early 2015. Before in 2012-13, the Mead finished 3rd in this division and beat Maldon & Tiptree on penalties in the final to gain promotion to the Isthmian Premier Division for the first time in their history.

The club’s stay in the Premier Division lasted just one season, and the club endured two turbulent seasons, after Keith McMahon resignation The Chairman appointed Terry Spillane as his replacement, unfortunately, his reign was terminated by the Chairman early 2016 although the team was in the play-off positions.

In the summer of 2016 the Chairman appointed Tommy Warrilow as the first-team manager, and with a new man at the helm came fresh hopes for the season, as Warrilow alongside his number two former Leather and Dartford skipper Alex O’Brien looked to take the club back to the Bostik Premier League.

Pre-season began with a completely new-look squad yet it proved to be a historic season in the FA Cup when the club was the first to play a tie in the Channel Islands before reaching the Third Qualifying Round for the first time in the club’s history.

In March 2017, due to unacceptable rising costs at Baylis Avenue, the Chairman announced the club had to move. He reached an agreement with the Directors of Dartford FC to enter into a five- year Ground share Agreement that would allow the Club to play their home games at Princes Park Stadium.

During the 2017-2018 close season, this Groundshare was formally sanctioned by the new Bostik league directors, as well as confirming that for the first time, the Mead would be competing in the South Division for the upcoming season. 

In August 2017, the club enjoyed a record 8-0 win in the FA Cup (away to East Preston) which was not only the Clubs biggest ever win in the competition but was also the first time, we have won a competitive game by eight clear goals!


Best league position: 22nd in Isthmian League Premier Division, 2013/14
Best FA Cup performance: the 3rd qualifying round, 2016-17
Best FA Vase performance: 5th round, 1995–96
Record victory: 8-0 v East Preston FACP, 19 August 2017


Isthmian North Play-Off winners 2012-13

Kent League Champions 2007-08

Updated 18:50 - 28 Jul 2018 by sonya whittam

Where next?

Thamesmead Town vs League One Gillingham FC League One Side Held In Rare Goalless Preseason Battle
Peter Tierney's Funeral Details. Join Us In Remembering Peter Tierney, Vice President Of Thamesmead Town Football Club


Loading comments

Mon 27 Aug
1st Team Phoenix Sports
League 15:00
Sat 1 Sep
1st Team Sittingbourne
League 15:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors